J.A. Prescott Medal of Soil Science

This medal is awarded to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to soil science. The J.A. Prescott Medal of Soil Science is awarded annually unless a suitable nomination is not received in which case the award is not made for that year.

James Arthur Prescott (1890 – 1987) was born in England, moving to Australia in 1924 as Professor of Agricultural Chemistry at the University of Adelaide.· From 1929 he was Chief of the Division of Soils CSIR, and from 1938 to 1955 he was the Director of the Waite Agricultural Research Institute, South Australia.

“When Prescott came to Australia in 1924 he was just beginning to make some impact on the scientific world. Prescott was to further the development of agricultural science in a revolutionary manner that attracted international attention. In 1951 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of London for his fundamental pedological researches and his pioneering work in climatology”

Award Winners

Year Award Winner Year Award Winner Year Award Winner
1972 C.G. Stephens 1990 K.G. Tiller 2008 R. Dalal
1973 - 1991 R. Gilkes 2009 M. McLaughlin
1974 T.J. Marshall 1992 W.W. Emerson 2010 D. Chen
1975 J.P. Quirk 1993 J.N. Ladd 2011 -
1976 R.G. Downes 1994 R. French 2012 S.E. Smith (Sally)
1977 K. Norrish 1995 G. Aylmore 2013 Jock Churchman
1978 J.K. Taylor 1996 - 2014  A.J. Baldock
1979 N. Collis-George 1997 K. Northcote 2015 V.V.S.R. Gupta 
1980 R. Brewer 1998 R.W. Fitzpatrick 2016  Rai Kookana
1981 B.E. Butler 1999 A. Rovira
1982 C.H. Williams 2000 M.J. Mulcahy
1983 G.D. Hubble 2001 B.E. Clothier
1984 C.G. Hallsworth 2002 J.W. Holmes
1985 J.R. Freney 2003 J.M. Oades
1986 K. Lee 2004 A.B. McBratney
1987 M. Raupach 2005 -
1988 P.H. Walker 2006 R.E. White
1989 O.T. Denmead 2007 P. Rengasamy

Conditions of the Award

The Society shall award annually a medal known as the J.A. Prescott Medal of Soil Science. 
The J.A. Prescott Medal of Soil Science award shall be to recognise any person who has made an outstanding contribution to soil science.
The J.A. Prescott Medal of Soil Science consists of a medal and certificate provided by Federal Council.
Medal Committee
The Prescott Medal Committee shall judge all nominations for the J.A. Prescott Medal of Soil Science award.
The Prescott Medal Committee will be constituted and appointed by Federal Council prior to May 31 each year. Federal Council shall appoint new Members as may be required to maintain a Committee of three.  Federal Council may at any time disband and reconstitute the J.A. Prescott Medal Committee.
The Prescott Medal Committee shall consist of three financial Members from separate Branches of the Society.  Each Member in turn shall act as Chair with the Chair retiring after a Medal has been awarded. Members of the JA Prescott Medal Committee shall not be a nominator, seconder or supporter of a candidate.
Members of the Prescott Medal Committee shall be ineligible for the award during their term on the J.A. Prescott Medal Committee.
The Award is open to financial Members of Soil Science Australia and other Australian soil scientists. 
If in the opinion of the Prescott Medal Committee no application for a particular year is of sufficiently high standard the Committee may decline to make an award for that year.
Nomination Process
Nominations must be made on the prescribed application form, available from the Federal Office or Soil Science Australia website, and shall be submitted electronically to the Federal secretary and copied to the Federal Office not later than May 31 in the year in which the J.A. Prescott Medal is to be awarded. 
Nominations are confidential to the Prescott Medal Committee and the Federal secretary will forward them to the Chair of the J.A. Prescott Medal Committee.
The nominator is considered responsible for confirming the successful receipt of the nomination by the Federal secretary if they have not received acknowledgement of receipt within seven days of submitting the nomination.
Nominations shall be prepared in each case by a nominator and a seconder and supported by three additional financial Members of the Society. Nomination of a candidate for the J.A. Prescott Medal shall be accompanied by a case in the candidate’s support of not longer than 1000 words.
If no, or insufficient, suitable nomination(s) is/are received the Prescott Medal Committee may cause a search to be made and consider candidates from which to select the Medal recipient. 
Unsuccessful nominations shall not be automatically carried forward from one year to the next but this should not preclude renomination of a candidate.
Medal Presentation
The decision of the Prescott Medal Committee shall be considered final and will be forwarded to the Federal Secretary before October 31 each year.
The J.A. Prescott Medal of Soil Science shall be presented by the Federal President or proxy at each national conference held by Soil Science Australia or at another event determined by the Federal Council. 

Soil Science Australia


Soil Science Australia is a not-for-profit organisation that serves as the peak body for soil scientists across Australia, and seeks to advance soil science in the professional, academic and technical fields.  It is a member of the International Union of Soil Sciences



Visit Awards Page or download application forms below

J.A. Prescott Medal of Soil Science

J.K. Taylor, OBE, Gold Medal in Soil Science

Australian Society of Soil Science Inc Publication Medal

C.G. Stephens PhD Award in Soil Science

L.J.H Teakle Award


 Federal Office

  PO Box 737 Prospect East 5082

 0476 450 321