Australian Society of Soil Science Inc. Publication Medal

This medal is awarded for a publication on any subject in soil research for candidates 35 years and less.   The award is made on the basis of scientific merit, relevance to soil science and effectiveness in communicating the paper's content to the reader. The award is normally for work carried out in Australia and is awarded annually unless a suitable nomination is not received in which case the award is not made for that year.

Award Winners

Year Award Winner Year Award Winner
1979   Sidhu 2004 Ronald Smernik
1980   J. Knight 2005 Bennett Macdonald
1981   W.H. Utomo 2007 Ian Oliver
1982   David Chittleborough 2009 Mohsen Forouzongohar
1983   Colin Chartres 2010 Ashlea Doolette
1984   Robert Loch 2011 Samantha Grover
1986   Anand 2012 Vanessa Wong
1987   Hainsworth 2013  Raj Setia
1989   Neal Menzies 2014  Shu Kee Lam (Raymond) 
1991   Stuart Boucher 2015 Daniela Montalvo Grijalva
1993   V K Phogat 2016 Timothy McLaren 
1995   H.J. Ni    
1996   Kerry Greenwood    
2001   Gary Sheridan    
2002   Budiman Minasny    
2003   Angus McElnea    

Conditions of the Award


The Society shall award annually a medal known as the ‘Australian Society of Soil Science Incorporated Publication Medal of 20__”. 
The Publication Medal award will be made on the basis of scientific merit, relevance to soil science, and effectiveness in communicating the paper’s contents to the reader.
The Publication Medal award consists of a medal, certificate and sum of money determined by, and provided by Federal Council.

Medal Committee
The Publication Medal Committee shall judge all nominations for the Publication Medal award.
The Publication Medal Committee will be constituted and appointed by Federal Council prior to May 31 each year.  Federal Council shall appoint new Members as may be required to maintain a Committee of three.  Federal Council may at any time disband and reconstitute the Publication Medal Committee.
The Publication Medal Committee shall consist of three financial Members from separate Branches of the Society.  Each Member in turn shall act as Chair who shall retire after a Medal has been awarded.
Members of the Publication Medal Committee shall not be a nominator or seconder of a candidate.
Members of the Publication Medal Committee shall be ineligible for the award during their term on the Publication Medal Committee.

The Publication Medal award is open to Australian soil scientists and will normally be for work carried out in Australia on any subject of soil research.
The publication on which the award is based should be published not later than the year of the candidate’s 35th birthday. 
Written assurance must be given by any co-authors that the candidate for the Publication Medal award has made the major contribution to the research and writing of the paper. 
Only the senior author of a joint-author publication is eligible to receive the Publication Medal.
If in the opinion of the Publication Medal Committee no publication for a particular year is of sufficiently high standard the Committee may decline to make an award for that year. 
A submitted paper not receiving an award in one year may be resubmitted in a subsequent year.

Nomination Process
Nominations must be made on the prescribed application form, available from the Federal Office or Soil Science Australia website, and shall be submitted electronically to the Federal Secretary and copied to the Federal Office not later than May 31 in the year in which the Publication Medal is to be awarded. 
Nominations are confidential to the Publication Medal Committee and the Federal Secretary will forward them to the Chair of the Publication Medal Committee. 
The nominator is considered responsible for confirming the successful receipt of the nomination by the Federal Secretary if they have not received acknowledgement of receipt within seven days of submitting the nomination.
Application for the Publication Medal award must be made by a financial Member of the Society and can be made either by the candidate, or on behalf of the candidate.  The nomination may include the names of up to two referees on whom the Publication Medal Committee may call.
If no, or insufficient, suitable nomination(s) is/are received the Publication Medal Committee may cause a publication search to be made and consider candidates from which to select a suitable Medal recipient.

Medal Presentation
The decision of the Publication Medal Committee shall be considered final and will be forwarded to the Federal Secretary before October 31 each year. 
The Publication Medal Award shall be presented by the Federal President or proxy at each national conference held by Soil Science Australia or at another event determined by the Federal Council.


Soil Science Australia


Soil Science Australia is a not-for-profit organisation that serves as the peak body for soil scientists across Australia, and seeks to advance soil science in the professional, academic and technical fields.  It is a member of the International Union of Soil Sciences



Visit Awards Page or download application forms below

J.A. Prescott Medal of Soil Science

J.K. Taylor, OBE, Gold Medal in Soil Science

Australian Society of Soil Science Inc Publication Medal

C.G. Stephens PhD Award in Soil Science

L.J.H Teakle Award


 Federal Office

  PO Box 737 Prospect East 5082

 0476 450 321